NFHC Announces Election of New Secretary and Board Member

(October, 2014) - The National Fire Heritage Center, a private non-profit corporation, whose mission is to protect the legacy of those who have served in the discipline of fire protection, announced today that it has re-elected Ron Coleman as President and Bill Killen as Vice President and Diane Breedlove as Treasurer.  The Board also elected a new Secretary and a new Board Member at their Annual Meeting.  Fred Brower was elected as the new Secretary.  He has recently retired from the Insurance Services Office where he served as Manager of the Community Infrastructure Information Commercial Property Field Survey Services.  He has also served as a Member of the College Park Volunteer Fire Department.   Also elected to the Board of Directors was Dr. Harry Carter.  Dr. Carter is an internationally known instructor, author and influence leader from Adelphia New Jersey.  He was elected as a new Board Member.  Wayne Powell continues as Executive Director.

Ron Coleman, President of the National Fire Heritage Center, stated that “the National Fire Heritage Center has been very successful in the last year of acquiring libraries from those individuals who have contributed to the fire service and have subsequently passed on.  The Heritage Center is pleased to keep their memory alive. ” Archivist Frank Schmersal reports that the library has acquired over 7,000 objects in the last twelve months.  For the first time since the archives were created, we have been able to create displays based on personal careers.  For example, we have done displays on Hal Bruno, Robert Barraclough, and Janet Wilmoth. 

Lastly, the Board elected a new slate of candidates for recognition in the Hall of Legends, Legacies and Leaders. (H3L)  A more formal announcement will be forthcoming regarding the nominees. For additional information, please see our website

Media Contact:
The National Fire Heritage Center at Post Office Drawer 76, Emmitsburg, MD  21727 or Ronny J. Coleman, President, 916-799-5363. Visit our website

Join the discussion

Copyright © 2023 Fire Chief. All rights reserved.